About the Secretary

Jennifer Cohan I am Jennifer Cohan. As Delaware's Secretary of Transportation, I would like to share my goals for the Department of Transportation with you.

Our focus will be on customer service and innovation. We will sharpen that focus throughout the department by keeping the needs of Delaware citizens the center of every decision we make, every project we build, and every service that we provide.

I firmly believe that what makes this department run is not its Cabinet Secretary. What makes DelDOT run is the people who work hard in every division, every day. My plan is to ensure the members of the DelDOT team have the tools they need to continue to make DelDOT a top-notch agency, and I am excited to share my ideas with DelDOT's talented employees. We will promote innovation in all of our divisions, and we will do this while continuing to use data-driven prioritization for DelDOT's infrastructure choices.

There is phenomenal talent in the Department of Transportation. I see the excitement of the engineers when they pitch their innovative concepts such as divergent diamond interchanges to ease traffic congestion at a reduced cost. I am impressed by the passion of the Delaware Transit Corporation employees for the innovative ideas they're coming up with for the overall transit redesign effort, whether it be Rideshare Programs or Flexible Bus Routes, that we are going to continue to implement and expand. I applaud the commitment and innovation coming from the Division of Planning in the area of electronic plan submittals to improve customer service. I see the pride in the faces of our Maintenance and Operations employees when it comes to snow/storm responses. I see the hard work and innovation coming from our Finance Division, saving taxpayers millions of dollars. I am also proud that Delaware has the best DMV in the nation, which is due to the hard work and smiling faces of the DMV employees.

I am excited to work with the DelDOT team in all of these areas. I know we can make a difference for the future of our state. I can assure you that we will not be a department that merely applauds innovative ideas. We will be a department that implements them.

In recent years, I have been a part of the DelDOT Team through the good times and I have been part of the team, working side by side, in the rough times. I look for many more good times to come as we continue to deliver Excellence in Transportation!

Jennifer Cohan was reappointed in January 2017 to continue to lead the Delaware Department of Transportation. Prior to serving as Secretary, she was the Director of the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles since 2007. Her state public service career has spanned over 27 years. Jennifer has worked in the capacity of Financial/Program Manager at the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) managing the state's Clean Water Program. Jennifer has also worked with the Delaware State Legislature within the Office of the Controller General. Ms. Cohan has also held an array of leadership positions within the Delaware Department of Transportation in the areas of Planning, Finance, and Motor Carrier Safety. She is an adjunct professor at Wilmington University, teaching leadership and public policy in the Master's program. Ms. Cohan is an active board member of the Greater Dover Boys and Girls Club and the American Heart Association.

Secretary Cohan currently serves as a member of the American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials Board of Directors, the Diamond State Port Corporation Board of Directors, the Northeast Corridor Commission, the Northeast Association of State Transportation Officials, and serves as the Chair of the I-95 Corridor Coalition's Executive Board, and Transportation Research Board Executive Committee and is an executive member of the National Transportation Research Board.

Jennifer graduated summa cum laude from Wilmington University with a Bachelor of Science in Business Management and a Master of Science in Public Administration. Jennifer also attended the Fels Institute of Government at the University of Pennsylvania.